Lack of Sleep & P90X

It’s week 3 Day 1 of Classic P90X, as per the calendar that means -> Chest & Back and ARX. I was looking forward to the chest pump of Chest & Back today but my little angel had other ideas. Last night was a horrid night, late to bed, soreness and interrupted sleep. 

So let’s back up a little, yesterday was a lazy day at home. That was until we had to go out and run and errand for the delightful mother in law. Junior went along for the ride and fell asleep mid afternoon. Every parents worst nightmare. Combine that with Autism and you get a very late night. So late to bed it was and then he was up every few hours at 1,3 and 5am. Complaints of soreness prompted reliable calpol and then nurofen. (Or suitable alternate brands). A word of advice on that try and leave 3 hours between these initially – first calpol and then 3 hours later nurofen. The staggering means the child won’t be without pain relief. 

So 7am came around and the little guy was up bouncing about looking breakfast. Today’s order was brioche. Off to nursery he went. 

My P90X journey just did not happen today. I had setup everything but was yawning and feeling very tired and sleepy. I started off, got through the warmup. Thinking yes I can do this. First round held up my numbers from last week – 40 standard push ups, 20 wide grip pull ups, 28 military push ups and 16 reverse grip chin ups. Disaster during the break. I sat down to look at my next numbers and hit a wall. Couldn’t stop yawning and a wave of tiredness hit me. Got to do 28 double wide push ups and just collapsed. Energy gone. Sapped into a black hole. I paused the DVD and just did shavasna on the mat for about 20 mins. 

So P90X ground to a halt, no ARX either. I’ve looked at my calendar and I will repeat today next Monday and shift the other days accordingly. I will drop X stretch on Wednesday of next to make room. 

Currently watching Twin Peaks S3. Up to ep3 when I decided to take a break and write this. It’s as weird as every – brilliant. Also attempting not to take an afternoon nap. 

Until later in the week

Tony
LLAP

Leave a Reply

